Day 18 – On the Ferry to Catalina Island

We’re spending New Years on Catalina, courtesy of our friend Ed Moore – who is treating us to 3 nights at the Avalon hotel as a wedding present. He’s Marky’s longest time friend and a really good person.

Yesterday I got a message from my sister that my mother was having a “procedure” where they were going to shock her heart.  This put me in a strange mood. I really didn’t feel like dancing today, plus the extra challenge of doing it while traveling made me less enthused because I was feeling quite sad. My mother loves boat rides and as I stood at the bow of the boat, I contemplated life and how short it is and told myself to really pay attention to how great this moment is – because it passes so fast – and because I wanted to enjoy the boat ride for her too.

I looked to see what song I had on my iPod that would work and the first thing I saw was this version of Monty Python’s “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life/Death”.  It seemed appropriate and after dancing to it I felt better.  Not long after I got a call from my sister saying Mom was ok, hungry and wanting a cup of coffee. So I guess she must be ok for now.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Day 18 – On the Ferry to Catalina Island”

  1. Diane Rocha says :

    I recently saw the musical Spamalot. I laughed from the moment the curtain went up until the final curtain. My absolute favorite song was “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life.” I saw it with a few friends/colleagues from work, and for the next week, we sang it all over campus. It was a riot!

    So don’t forget: Life’s a piece of shit, when you look at it … so – always look on the bright side of life …

    Thanks for the laughs and the reminder!

    Diane

Leave a Reply

