All That You Have is Your Soul – Tracy Chapman – Day 158

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Like This!

Today I had an audition for the Kansas City Repertory theater. It’s general auditions for their 2011 season – so I won’t get any feedback for a while, but I felt good and that’s what matters most. I was able to go in to the audition without all the attachments to doing it right etc. that cause distraction. Partly I was able to do this because I prepared and have technique to rely on. Another part of that preparation has been doing these dances everyday. I’ve learned to dance in just about any situation anywhere and each day am subjecting myself to potential (and real) rejection – so I guess I’ve learned to focus on what I’m doing and not worry about what’s going on “out there” or let other people distract me.

Acting isn’t the same as dancing, but they certainly share much. It felt good to get up and use myself in service to a good script today. Being an actor has always been one of my most precious dreams. I feel good that I am checking my fears of what I can’t do at the door in honor of what I most want to do. Following one’s dreams is food for the soul. And as Tracy Chapman so perfectly puts it in this song, all that you have is your soul. Today I had an audition for the Kansas City Repertory theater. It’s general auditions for their 2011 season – so I won’t get any feedback for a while, but I felt good and that’s what matters most. I was able to go in to the audition without all the attachments to doing it right etc. that cause distraction. Partly I was able to do this because I prepared and have technique to rely on. Another part of that preparation has been doing these dances everyday. I’ve learned to dance in just about any situation anywhere and each day am subjecting myself to potential (and real) rejection – so I guess I’ve learned to focus on what I’m doing and not worry about what’s going on “out there” or let other people distract me.

Acting isn’t the same as dancing, but they certainly share much. It felt good to get up and use myself in service to a good script today. Being an actor has always been one of my most precious dreams. I feel good that I am checking my fears of what I can’t do at the door in honor of what I most want to do. Following one’s dreams is food for the soul. And as Tracy Chapman so perfectly puts it in this song, all that you have is your soul.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

