Day 313 – Chores

As I was cleaning the house today, I thought – this is a dance. I love to dance while I’m cleaning and I do it without even realizing it. It makes doing chores fun and it’s a great way to get some exercise!

I love cleaning. Not everyday, but once in a while I really get in the mood and then scrubbing the floors and fixtures really becomes a pleasure. I enjoy the activity for it’s simplicity and for it’s explicity. When it’s done, I know it…I have evidence, I can see and feel the difference. While I’m doing it my mind is free to wander or to focus simply on the task at hand and relax into the present moment. I enjoy both and while I value present moment awareness, I also find value in the insights that seem to come from allowing my mind free license to meander.

I can make my life seem so complex, cleaning is a really simple dance.

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Day 313 – Chores”

  1. Brammofan says :

    You’re welcome to come over and do this dance at our house. Our cleaning lady got a hernia and will be out of commission for a few more weeks…plus, she didn’t dance while she scrubbed the toilets, vacuumed, etc.

    • Mary says :

      Harry, I’m so sorry to hear about your cleaning lady. Perhaps she needed a well deserved break. I knew this blog would get me a job one day! I hope you guys can afford me 🙂

Leave a Reply

