Day 316 – Don’t Give Up…

I’m reading a book called, “Free Play; Improvisation in Life and Art” by Stephen Nachmanovitch. In his book he says “…improvisation is the master-key to creativity.” And that it contains clues as well to “…living a life that is self-creating, self-organizing and authentic.”

So far it has described the greatest purpose of my project to me. Improvisation. Using the world around me as inspiration for my art as well as my life. Living this way is like being in a natural flow of continuous potential. Improvisation exists in the present moment – there is no past or future, everything I need is right here now with me and I can draw on the skills, resources, inspiration of the moment.

So today I got an email from my friend Gunnar in San Diego with these rad Kate Bush YouTube videos that he said some of my videos reminded him of (Wow. High praise. Thanks Gunnar.) Check this one out!
One of the videos he sent me was this song “Don’t Give Up” by Peter Gabriel and Kate Bush. I didn’t even know it was in my library, but I looked, and there it was in my Itunes. I danced the entire seven plus minutes but I cut it to the last 2 minutes out of consideration for your time.
I figure the way today’s dance came about is exactly what Mr. Nachmanovitch was talking about. I’m certainly no master of improvisation, but with practice I may be in time – as long as I don’t give up.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

