Day 319 – Vincent

I recently heard this classic song by Don McLean the other day. I guess I hadn’t heard it since I was a kid or something because I just realized the song is about Vincent Van Gogh. Truth is, as many times as I’ve heard it and sung along with it in the past, I really just heard it for the first time the other day.

Earlier Mark was going to the gym (it’s on our floor of our building) and I said “in case a tornado comes, I love you.” He said it wasn’t too likely that we’d die if a tornado hit our building, but that wasn’t really the point. The point was that any of us could die at any moment. I got to thinking about that exchange and the fact that I seem hyper aware of how fragile life is. I like to make sure I say what’s in my heart as a regular practice. I never want to slip into thinking that ending an argument or telling someone I love them can wait until later.

I suppose I know why I’m so aware of the fragility of life. I’ve lost many loved ones. Some by their own hand, just like Vincent. I dedicate today’s dance to them.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

