Day 350 – Angel

I started feeling not-well yesterday and woke up with a sore throat and feeling pretty fatigued today. I hesitate to say that I have a cold or flu because it’s been so long since I have had a bug. I’ve woken up a few times with a sore throat, and always seem to be able to will it away. So I got dressed and we headed over to the Nelson Atkins to video this dance. I was not in the mood to move. I imagined that I would sort of sway and shift weight or something. Once the camera started rolling…this dance came out. I could barely hear the music….but it all really worked. There is a kind of magic in committing to something. I don’t know how it works, but I feel pretty sure that it does.

Mark said to me in the car that I should make sure to mention in my blog that there are many days that getting a dance posted has been really difficult. I told him that I’m sure I’ve mentioned it a few times – which if you’ve read for a while you probably know. It’s never the dancing that’s hard, it’s having to post something private for public consumption everyday. And I’ve done it without any resources, very little support (Mark has been unbelievably supportive) and virtually no budget. So many days, I have to overcome the question in my mind, “what am I, crazy?” The answer of course is yes. But aside from that, I have to believe that there are lessons still yet to be revealed and that my mission to get people to “sit less and dance more” has touched at least one person. That does make it worthwhile, though not any easier. This song, Angel, by Sarah McLachlin expresses a lot of what I feel.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

