Day 357 – Keep movin’

It was supposed to be 50 degrees and sunny in Kansas City this morning, so when I woke up and it was 30 and foggy, I wondered how many people would show up to dance at the Liberty Memorial. {Quote from Molly’s comment – Liberty Memorial where we house The National World War I Museum, the only American museum solely dedicated to preserving the objects, history and personal experiences.}

Was I surprised when we got there and people were already waiting! It was super cold but 30 people came out and we had a blast. Everyone was so happy and we had a great time. I was amazed how well everything went.

Fox news came out too here’s a link to the segment they did about us on tonight’s news!

I met a lot of fun, new people today. Thanks so much to everyone who came out. Thanks to KCUR for sharing the good news so people knew what we were doing today.

I think the cold weather made us focus a little bit more closely because how in the world did 30 people who (for the most part) never met each other do all of this in one take? What fun! Fox4 came out to cover the event. And my new friend and local blogger, May, came out. She is doing a 365 day self portrait project and she took today’s picture with us.
This song is called “Get a Move On” and it’s by the artist, Scruff

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Day 357 – Keep movin’”

  1. Anne Marie says :

    What a fun time this morning! This is how life should be every day. Thanks, Mary!

  2. Molly Logsdon says :

    Dance is like life….it is about movement and projecting forward and preferably with fun, good fellowship, and branching out to new adventures like dancing on a cold windy morning at Liberty Memorial where we house The National World War I Museum, the only American museum solely dedicated to preserving the objects, history and personal experiences.

    Let us dance rejoice and be glad in it!

    Thank you Mary for the experience and all the new dance partners you brought together. ~Molly

  3. May says :

    Mary I LOVE the video!!! So great and what a fun time! Even in the super cold! Here’s a link to the picture I took: http://www.flickr.com/photos/23245405@N05/5233111180/

    I’m going to post this on my blog Monday as well 🙂

  4. Jillaine Smith says :

    Very fun!!! like a mini flash mob!

  5. amanda morten says :

    Great video, Mary and Mark! This was utterly worth braving the cold for, and once we started getting our groove on, you couldn’t even tell it was cold out. Thanks for bringing the fun today! We loved dancing with you and the rest of the group. Can’t wait to do it again!

  6. Jill says :

    I LOVE this. . .what a wonderful idea! Dancing is good for the body and soul! How does one get in on the next group dance? I’d love to come out and join you with a group of friends!

    • Mary says :

      Thanks for stopping by Jill! Are you in Kansas City? I’ll happily add you to my email list and you can always check the Facebook fan page for upcoming events.

  7. Jillaine Smith says :

    And thanks for “introducing” me to May. I had a lot of fun perusing her blog.

    • Mary says :

      You are so welcome Jillaine! I really appreciate your comments – here and on youtube. I know you are watching…it means a lot to me!

  8. Christy Long says :

    Fun! I enjoyed your video!

Leave a Reply

