Day 365 – Coming full circle

I’ve been listening to this song, Will it Go Round in Circles by Billy Preston for a few months now. I somehow knew when I heard it the first time that it would be the right song for today’s finale. I think I made a good choice.

I wrote a long post yesterday about what I thought may be next…and it’s late so I’ll keep this short. I want to thank everyone who showed up at the Organ Pavilion to dance with us today. Unfortunately some people didn’t find us, but they were there and I appreciate the effort. To everyone who made this video great, thank you! Please leave a comment – you are all awesome!

There were people from all walks of life with us today and some media people who came to cover it. Fox 5 called, but they were about an hour late :-). If you wanted to make it but couldn’t we still felt you there in spirit.

It’s been an amazing year. I can start to process it now and I’ll post more in a few days, but for now…enjoy – and please pass it on!

love,
Mary

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Day 365 – Coming full circle”

  1. dkrocha says :

    OMG! What a fabulous event this was! I am referring, of course, to Mary’s completion of her Dance a Day and make a video and post it – every day – for one solid year! Today was her Day 365. She flew back to San Diego, where it all began (she now lives in Kansas City), and we all met at Balboa Park at the organ Pavilion and danced our way over to the Roman Garden behind the Cafe del Rey Moro. Coincidentally, I almost got married there – 30 years ago! Had reservations and everything. Got married in Mt. Laguna instead, but that’s another story for another time.

    This venture of Mary’s is what inspired me to take her challenge, not knowing where it was going or what shape it would take. That, of course, has morphed into my own Dance a Day Celebration, which does have shape and purpose – I am celebrating my 60th year of Being Alive! (That was my theme song my first few years of teaching when I sang that great song from the Broadway musical, Company to my students to perk them up. It did – every time.)

    So today’s dance celebrated Mary and her amazing accomplishment. And we also celebrated the pure enjoyment of dance and the camaraderie that dancers have for each other. I only knew a handful of those dancers there today, and yet it felt like I had known them my whole life – and like I had danced with them for years. But that is not so. The entire dance was 100% improv – and 100% F – U – N!

    Mary’s message is a simple one – and shown to be so true today – If we all just got up and danced – just one dance – every day – the world would be a much better place. Think about it. Who can be mad and bitter while dancing?

    Thanks, Mary, for making this possible for us, and thanks for changing my life. You are my inspiration!

  2. Tori Janaya says :

    Mary, CONGRATULATIONS, girl! I was so happy to dance with you on the final day. Thanks for making it a San Diego event and for calling together such a wonderful group of Freebox spirits. I’m so impressed with how you’ve hung in through the entire year. I look forward to seeing what’s next for you, you amazing creative being!

    Big love,
    Tori

  3. Mari from Japan says :

    Congratulations!
    When I watched video,I could feel to join the session.
    I could feel your passion and sunshine in CA!
    XXX

    Mari

  4. Rusty Jones says :

    This was so much fun, and I can’t believe a year has passed! I look back through the various dances and they remind me of all the wild and wonderful changes that have blown through this past year. I’ve so looked forward to seeing what you’d come up with each day, and was never disappointed. Clever, joyful, and so full of love and life!
    I’m going to miss it…it’s been part of my facebook routine! I never thought Kansas City could look so much fun! 😉

    • Mary says :

      I loved having you there Rusty! Having your support over the past year has been priceless to me. And getting to dance to some of your songs was such a gift!

  5. Kathy Myers says :

    Congratulations Mary! What an incredible achievement. We’re all so proud of you. More, much more is coming your way–I feel that in my heart. I just wanted to thank you for the opportunity to tango with you in Target, waltz with you at Walmart, and just plain old boogey on Day 365. As you know, your 365 Days of Dance project inspired me to launch my own year-long quest: the Year of 52 Adventures. Currently going strong having my 45th adventure for the year. Keep on dancing!
    Kathy

    • Mary says :

      Kathy! Thank you so much!!! I loved dancing with you this year and it was your bravery that allowed me to dance through Target and Walmart! I admire you and am so grateful to have you as my friend.

  6. Harvey A Ruben says :

    Since meeting you & Mark at Cicciottis restaurant I’ve been following your fabuolous adventures in dance & living. You, both, are to be congratulated for your creativity & persistence. Karen & I wish both of you a joyous & healthy 2011. Harvey

    • Mary says :

      Hi Harvey and Karen, It’s so nice of you to leave a comment and let me know you’re out there. I appreciate it! It has been a truly wonderful year. Best wishes to you in the New Year!

Leave a Reply

