Dancing everyday = major life improvement

I got this in my email today from Diane – a friend who chose to take up my suggestion to dance everyday and find out for yourself what good things can happen. She keeps a blog about it here: http://danceadaycelebration.wordpress.com/ Just a note: she’s on day #44 of this blog but she actually kept another blog “dance a day challenge” for about 166 days before deciding to begin again on her birthday 44 days ago.

Thought you might like to know this. Last night, as I was dancing that fox-trot, it occurred to me, so clearly, that without your inspiration with your dance a day challenge, I would be missing this huge thing in my life. Sure, it’s only a 5 minute dance and maybe another 5 – 10 minutes to write it up with the pictures and the video link, so what’s that? 15 minutes of my day – but the rewards from that concentrated time are rich beyond words.

My dancing has improved, in spite of the fact that I rarely go dancing anymore now that there is no more Tuesday night thing (still working on replacing that in my life) and I am so much more in touch with what is going on internally when I dance – the emotional and spiritual components, especially the spiritual, had been lost on me. Dancing solo, though, I am not thinking about following, which frees me to think about all that is going on inside of me during that particular dance.

Oftentimes, I start out totally bummed out or disgusted with some parent’s complaint against me. The last thing I feel like doing is dancing, but I have made this commitment to myself, so I go forward. Every single time – yes – 100% of the time, as I walk to the stereo to turn it off, I am laughing, saying out loud, “That was good,” or “That was fabulous!” – but never have I ever even one time said – “Oh I wish I hadn’t done that.”

All of this is to say that I am so surprised at what an impact this Dance a Day Challenge – turned Dance a Day Celebration has had on my life – my whole life, not just my dance life. That, and of course, to say thank you – you have made a difference in my life, and I wonder how many other people you have affected in a similar way, and you just don’t know it.

I send you thanks and love across the country, my friend.

Diane

Ok, I’m tearing up now. Thanks Diane!

One response to “Dancing everyday = major life improvement”

  1. stepxstepdance says :

    This is great! I just went onto her blog and I’m addicted. I think the idea of doing something your passionate about everyday only improves upon that passion to become better. I need to put this into my routine as well with hip-hop dancing. Thank you.
    Check out my blog as well: stepxstepdance.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

